2022-2023 Cal Poly Humboldt Catalog 
    
    Aug 13, 2022  
2022-2023 Cal Poly Humboldt Catalog

Fees & Financial Aid



Fees

The registration fee includes the student association fee; student center fee; health facilities fee; instructionally-related activities fee; student health and counseling fee; materials, services, and facilities fee; the tuition fee; and other course-related fees, as determined by the department.

Students who are residents of states other than California, or nonresident students from other countries, must pay nonresident tuition fees in addition to the registration fee. Students auditing a class still pay regular fees.

Fees at Cal Poly Humboldt

Registration Fees (per semester)*

Registration Fees at Cal Poly Humboldt
Fee Units: 6.1 or more Units: 0 to 6.0
Student Body Association Fee $59 $59
Campus Union Fee $123 $123
Health Facilities Fee $33  $33 
Instructionally Related Activities Fee $337 $201
Health Services Fee $333 $333
Materials, Services and Facilities Fee $174 $86
Tuition Fee - Undergraduate $2,871 $1,665
Tuition Fee - Graduate $3,588 $2,082
Tuition Fee - Teacher Credential $3,330 $1,932
Tuition Fee - Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) $4,307 $2,498
Student Involvement & Representation Fee (optional) $2 $2

Please see Tuition and Fees on the Student Financial Services website for additional information.

Professional Program Fee

The Professional Program Fee is charged at a rate of $270 per unit for students in the Master of Business Administration (MBA) program. The fee is charged in addition to the tuition fee, campus registration fees, and applicable nonresident fees.

Nonresident Tuition Fee

Non-California residents pay $396 per unit tuition in addition to the fees above.

Other Fees

  • Administrative charge for withdrawing or dropping to lower fee category: $27
  • Application fee: $70
  • Application for graduation: $64
  • Check/e-check returned fee: $25
  • Diploma replacement:  $25
  • Failure to meet administratively required appointment or time limit fee $2 to $30
  • Identification card replacement: $5
  • Late payment fee:  $30
  • Late registration fee: $25
  • Late add or drop fee (deadline two weeks after instruction begins): $20 per course
  • Library fines: $5 to $25
  • Library lost book fee: Replacement Value
  • Orientation Program Fee: $50
  • Parking- Automobiles: $157.50 per semester
  • Parking- motorcycles, motorized bicycles:  $40 per semester
  • Transcripts:  $4 for the first copy. Additional $2 per copy 

*Fees based on 2020-21 levels.

Cancellation for Non-Payment of Fees

Failure to pay all outstanding tuition and fees by the posted due date will result in the cancellation of your classes. Student should review their student account to make sure that all eligible aid (such as financial aid, fee waiver, third party scholarship/award) has been applied to their outstanding charges. The university offers a variety of installment plans to cover tuition and fees. Please refer to the Student Financial Services website for any questions regarding fees, installment plans or deadlines.

CSU Schedule of Tuition and Fees - 2021/22

The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Tuition and fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU reserves the right, even after tuition or fees are initially charged or initial payments are made, to increase or modify any listed tuition or fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory systemwide tuition, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU-listed tuition and fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the chancellor or the presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory systemwide tuition will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028 through 66028.6 of the California Education Code). 

The following reflects applicable systemwide tuition and fees for both semester and quarter campuses. These rates are subject to change.

All Students

Application fee (nonrefundable), payable online at the time of application via credit card, e- check or PayPal: $70

2021/22 Basic Tuition

2021/22 Basic Tuition
  Per Semester Per Quarter Per Academic Year
Undergraduate Tuition (6.1 or more units) $2,871 $1,914 $5,742
Undergraduate Tuition (0 to 6.0 units) $1,665 $1,110 $3,330
Credential Program Tuition (6.1 or more units) $3,330 $2,220 $6,660
Credential Program Tuition (0 to 6.0 units) $1,932 $1,288 $3,864
Graduate/Post Baccalaureate Tuition (6.1 or more units) $3,588 $2,392 $7,176
Graduate/Post Baccalaureate Tuition (0 to 6.0 units) $2,082 $1,388 $4,164

2021/22 Doctorate Tuition*

 

2021/22 Doctorate Tuition
  Per Semester Per Quarter Per Academic Year
Audiology (all students) $7,317   $14,742
Education (all students) $5,919 $3,946 $11,838
Nursing Practice (all students) $7,635   $15,270
Physical Therapy (all students) $8,598   $17,196

*Applicable term tuition applies for campuses with special terms, as determined by the campus. Total college year tuition cannot exceed the academic year plus summer term tuition. The summer term tuition for the education doctorate at quarter campuses is equal to the per semester tuition listed in the table. Total tuition for the education doctorate over the college year equals the per academic year tuition plus the per semester tuition for the summer term at all CSU campuses.

2021/22 Graduate Business Professional Fee

  • Charge Per Unit: Per Semester: $270 
  • Charge Per Unit: Per Quarter: $180 

The graduate business professional fee is paid on a per unit basis in addition to basic tuition and campus fees for specific graduate business programs authorized to assess the fee:

  • Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.)
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Accountancy
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business Administration
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business Analytics
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business and Technology
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Entrepreneurship and Innovation
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Finance
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Health Care Management
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Health Services Administration
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Information Systems
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Information Technology
  • Master of Science (M.S. programs in Marketing
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Taxation

2021/22 Nonresident Tuition (U.S. and Foreign) 

Nonresident tuition (in addition to basic tuition and other systemwide fees charged all students) for all campuses:

  • Charge Per Unit: Per Semester: $396
  • Charge Per Unit: Per Quarter: $264

The total nonresident tuition paid per term will be determined by the number of units taken.

Mandatory systemwide tuition is waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the California Education Code (see section on fee waivers). Students are charged campus fees in addition to tuition and systemwide fees. Information on campus fees can be found by contacting the individual campus(es).

Credit Cards

Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover credit cards may be used for payment of student tuition and fees but may be subject to a non-refundable credit card processing fee. Payments may also be sent directly to the Cal Poly Humboldt Cashier’s Office.

CSU Schedule of Tuition and Fees - 2022/23

The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Tuition and fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU reserves the right, even after tuition or fees are initially charged or initial payments are made, to increase or modify any listed tuition or fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory systemwide tuition, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU-listed tuition and fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the chancellor or the presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory systemwide tuition will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028 - 66028.6 of the Education Code).

The following reflects applicable systemwide tuition and fees for both semester and quarter campuses. These rates are subject to change.

All Students

Application fee (nonrefundable), payable online at the time of application via credit card, e- check or PayPal: $70

2022/23 Basic Tuition

2022/23 Basic Tuition
  Per Semester Per Quarter Per Academic Year
Undergraduate Tuition (6.1 or more units) $2,871 $1,914 $5,742
Undergraduate Tuition (0 to 6.0 units) $1,665 $1,110 $3,330
Credential Program Tuition (6.1 or more units) $3,330 $2,220 $6,660
Credential Program Tuition (0 to 6.0 units) $1,932 $1,288 $3,864
Graduate/Post Baccalaureate Tuition (6.1 or more units) $3,588 $2,392 $7,176
Graduate/Post Baccalaureate Tuition (0 to 6.0 units) $2,082 $1,388 $4,164

2022/23 Doctorate Tuition*

 

2022/23 Doctorate Tuition
  Per Semester Per Quarter Per Academic Year
Audiology (all students) $7,317   $14,742
Education (all students) $5,919 $3,946 $11,838
Nursing Practice (all students) $7,635   $15,270
Physical Therapy (all students) $8,598   $17,196

*Applicable term tuition applies for campuses with special terms, as determined by the campus. Total college year tuition cannot exceed the academic year plus summer term tuition. The summer term tuition for the education doctorate at quarter campuses is equal to the per semester tuition listed in the table. Total tuition for the education doctorate over the college year equals the per academic year tuition plus the per semester tuition for the summer term at all CSU campuses.

2022/23 Graduate Business Professional Fee

  • Charge Per Unit: Per Semester: $270 
  • Charge Per Unit: Per Quarter: $180 

The graduate business professional fee is paid on a per unit basis in addition to basic tuition and campus fees for specific graduate business programs authorized to assess the fee:

  • Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.)
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Accountancy
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business Administration
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business Analytics
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business and Technology
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Entrepreneurship and Innovation
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Finance
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Health Care Management
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Health Services Administration
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Information Systems
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Information Technology
  • Master of Science (M.S. programs in Marketing
  • Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Taxation

2022/23 Nonresident Tuition (U.S. and Foreign) 

Nonresident tuition (in addition to basic tuition and other systemwide fees charged all students) for all campuses:

  • Charge Per Unit: Per Semester: $396
  • Charge Per Unit: Per Quarter: $264

The total nonresident tuition paid per term will be determined by the number of units taken.

Mandatory systemwide tuition is waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the California Education Code (see section on fee waivers). Students are charged campus fees in addition to tuition and systemwide fees. Information on campus fees can be found by contacting the individual campus(es).

Fee Waivers and Exemptions

The California Education Code provides for the waiver of mandatory systemwide tuition fees as summarized below:

Section 66025.3 (a) -

Dependent eligible to receive assistance under Article 2 of Chapter 4 of Division 4 of the Military and Veterans Code; child of any veteran of the United States military who has a service- connected disability, has been killed in service, or has died of a service-connected disability, and meets specified income provisions; dependent, or surviving spouse who has not remarried of any member of the California National Guard who, in the line of duty, and while in the active service of the state, was killed, died of a disability resulting from an event that occurred while in the active service of the state, or is permanently disabled as a result of an event that occurred while in the active service of the state; and any undergraduate student who is a recipient of a Medal of Honor, or undergraduate student who is a child of a recipient of a Medal of Honor who is no more than 27 years old, who meets the income restriction and California residency requirement.

Section 68120.3 - Current or former foster youth who are 25 years of age or younger; has been in foster care for at least 12 consecutive months after reaching 10 years of age; meet one of the following: i) is under a current foster care placement order by the juvenile court, ii) was under a foster care placement order by the juvenile court upon reaching 18 years of age, iii) was adopted, or entered guardianship, from foster care; completes and submits the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA); maintains a minimum grade point average and meets the conditions necessary to be in good standing at the campus; and meets the financial need requirements established for Cal Grant A awards under Chapter 1.7 of Part 42. The waiver of mandatory systemwide tuition and fees under this section applies only to a person who is determined to be a resident of California pursuant to Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 68000) of Part 41 of the California Education Code.

Section 66602 - A qualifying student from the California State University who is appointed by the Governor to serve as Trustee of the California State University for the duration of his or her term of office.

Section 68120 - Surviving spouse or child of a deceased California resident who was employed by a public agency, or was a contractor or an employee of a contractor, performing services for a public agency with principal duties consisted of active law enforcement service or active fire suppression and prevention, and was killed in the performance of active law enforcement or active fire suppression and prevention duties (referred to as Alan Pattee Scholarships).

Additionally, a person who qualifies for the waiver under this section as a surviving child of a contractor or of an employee of a contractor, who performed services for a public agency, must be enrolled as an undergraduate student at the California State University and meet the applicable income restriction requirement with supporting documentation (i.e. his/her income, including the value of parent support, does not exceed the maximum household income and asset level for an applicant for a Cal Grant B award).

Section 68120.3 - Surviving spouse (until January 1, 2033) or surviving child (until attaining the age of 30) of a deceased California resident who was a licensed physician or licensed nurse employed by or under contract with a health facility regulated and licensed by the State Department of Public Health to provide medical services, or a first responder employed to provide emergency services as described in Section 8562 of the Government Code. The deceased person’s principal duties consisted of providing medical services or emergency services during the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency (started March 4, 2020, until the Governor lifts the state of emergency), and the deceased person died of COVID-19 during the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency. The person who qualifies for this waiver must enroll as an undergraduate student at a campus of the California State University, was a resident of California during the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency, and the annual income (including the value of parent’s support) does not exceed the maximum household income and asset level for an applicant for a Cal Grant A award, as set forth in Section 69432.7.

Section 68121 - A qualifying student (until attaining the age of 30) enrolled in an undergraduate program who is the surviving dependent of any individual killed in the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York City, the Pentagon building in Washington, D.C., or the crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in southwestern Pennsylvania, if the student meets the financial need requirements set forth in Government Code Section 69432.7 for the Cal Grant A Program and either the surviving dependent or the individual killed in the attacks was a resident of California on September 11, 2001.

Section 69000 - A California resident who has been exonerated, as that term is defined in Section 3007.05(e) of the Penal Code; completes and submits the FAFSA; and meets the financial need requirements established for Cal Grant A awards.  The student’s mandatory systemwide tuition and fees waived pursuant to this subdivision shall not have in excess of the equivalent of six years of full-time attendance in an undergraduate program.

Students who may qualify for the above benefits should contact the Admissions/Registrar’s Office for further information and/or an eligibility determination.

The California Education Code provides for the following nonresident tuition exemptions as summarized below:

Section 68075 - A student who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States stationed in this state, except a member of the Armed Forces assigned for educational purposes to a state-supported institution of higher education, is entitled to resident classification only for the purpose of determining the amount of tuition and fees.

If that member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is in attendance at an institution is thereafter transferred on military orders to a place outside this state where the member continues to serve in the Armed Forces of the United States, the member shall not lose the member’s resident classification so long as the member remains continuously enrolled at that institution.

Section 68075.7 - A nonresident student is exempt from paying nonresident tuition or any other fee that is exclusively applicable to nonresident students if the student (1) resides in California, (2) meets the definition of “covered individual” as defined in Section 3679(c)(2) of Title 38 of the United States Code, (3) is eligible for education benefits under the federal Montgomery GI Bill-Active Duty program or the Post-9/11 GI Bill program as each read on January 1, 2017.

Section 68122 - A student who is a victim of trafficking, domestic violence, and other serious crimes who has been granted a status under Section 1101(a)(15)(T)(i) or (ii), or Section 1101(a)(15)(U)(i) or (ii), of Title 8 of the United States Code shall be exempt from paying nonresident tuition to the same extent as individuals who are admitted to the United States as refugees under Section 1157 of Title 8 of the United States Code.

Section 68130.5 - A student, other than a person excluded from the term “immigrant” for purposes of the federal Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. Sec. 1101), pursuant to paragraph (15) of subsection (a) of Section 1101 of Title 8 of the United States Code, who is not a resident of California is exempt from paying nonresident tuition if the student meets the requirements of (1) through (4), below:

  1. Satisfaction of the requirements of either subparagraph (A) or subparagraph (B):
    1. A total attendance of, or attainment of credits earned while in California equivalent to, three or more years of full-time attendance or attainment of credits at any of the following:
      1. California high schools.
      2. California high schools established by the State Board of Education.
      3. California adult schools established by a county office of education, a unified school district or high school district, or the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (subject to the class hours’ requirement).
      4. Campuses of the California Community Colleges (subject to the credit requirements).
      5. A combination of those schools set forth in clauses (i) to (iv), inclusive.
    2. Three or more years of full-time high school coursework, and a total of three or more years of attendance in California elementary schools, California secondary schools, or a combination of California elementary and secondary schools.
  2. Satisfaction of any of the following:
    1. Graduation from a California high school or attainment of the equivalent thereof.
    2. Attainment of an associate degree from a campus of the California Community Colleges.
    3. Fulfillment of the minimum transfer requirements established for the California State University for students transferring from a campus of the California Community Colleges.
  3. Registration as an entering student at, or current enrollment at, an accredited institution of higher education in California not earlier than the fall semester or quarter of the 2001-02 academic year.
  4. In the case of a person without lawful immigration status, the filing of an affidavit with the institution of higher education stating that the student has filed an application to legalize his or her immigration status, or will file an application as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.

Procedure for the Establishment or Abolishment of Campus-Based Mandatory Fees

The law governing the California State University provides that specific campus fees defined as mandatory, such as a student association fee and a student center fee, may be established. A student association fee must be established upon a favorable vote of two-thirds of the students voting in an election held for this purpose (Education Code, Section 89300). The campus president may adjust the student association fee only after the fee adjustment has been approved by a majority of students voting in a referendum established for that purpose. The required fee shall be subject to referendum at any time upon the presentation of a petition to the campus president containing the signatures of 10 percent of the regularly enrolled students at the university. Student association fees support a variety of cultural and recreational programs, childcare centers, and special student support programs. A student center fee may be established only after a fee referendum is held which approves by a two-thirds favorable vote the establishment of the fee (Education Code, Section 89304). Once bonds are issued, authority to set and adjust student center fees is governed by provisions of the State University Revenue Bond Act of 1947, including, but not limited to, Education Code sections 90012, 90027, and 90068. A student success fee may be established or adjusted only after the campus undertakes a rigorous consultation process and a fee referendum is held with a simple majority favorable vote (Education Code, Section 89712). The student success fee may be rescinded by a majority vote of the students only after six years have elapsed following the vote to implement the fee.

The process to establish and adjust other campus-based mandatory fees requires consideration by the campus fee advisory committee and a student referendum as established by California State University Student Fee Policy Executive Order 1102, Section III. The campus president may use alternate consultation mechanisms if he/ she determines that a referendum is not the best mechanism to achieve appropriate and meaningful consultation. Results of the referendum and the fee committee review are advisory to the campus president. The president may adjust campus-based mandatory fees but must request the chancellor to establish a new mandatory fee. The president shall provide to the campus fee advisory committee a report of all campus-based mandatory fees. The campus shall report annually to the chancellor a complete inventory of all campus-based mandatory fees.

For more information or questions, please contact the Budget Office in the CSU Chancellor’s Office at (562) 951-4560.

Materials, Services, and Facilities Fees. Students pay additional fees for courses with activities such as field trips. Some courses require insurance. The current semester class schedule has fee information; available on the Office of the Registrar Class Schedule webpage.

Department of Veterans Affairs and Department of Defense Education Benefits and Assistance

Veteran service members, dependents of deceased or disabled veterans, and reservists are eligible for VA educational benefits. Information is available on the VA Benefits website or eBenefits.

California Department of Veterans Affairs Fee Waiver

Many spouses/registered domestic partners and dependents of service connected deceased or disabled veterans are eligible for a Cal Vet Fee Waiver. This is a partial waiver of registration fees at any CSU, UC, or California community college through the California Department of Veterans Affairs. (Eligibility is established by any County Veterans Service Office.) Financial aid recipients must report to the Cal Poly Humboldt Financial Aid Office any fee waiver received.

To find out which veterans benefits program you may be eligible for, and to obtain information and forms, contact Veterans Enrollment & Transition Services (LL 58; 707-8266272) at least two months before the term you plan to attend.

Debts & Refunds

Fees and Debts Owed to the Institution

Should a student or former student fail to pay a fee or a debt owed to the institution, including tuition and student charges, the institution may “withhold permission to register, to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged, to receive services, materials, food or merchandise or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt” until the debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381).

Prospective students who register for courses offered by the university are obligated for the payment of charges and fees associated with registration for those courses. Failure to cancel registration in any course for an academic term prior to the first day of the academic term gives rise to an obligation to pay student charges and fees including any tuition for the reservation of space in the course.

The institution may withhold permission to register or other services offered by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution. The institution may also report the debt to a credit bureau, offset the amount due against any future state tax refunds due the student, refer the debt to an outside collection agency and/or charge the student actual and reasonable collection costs, including reasonable attorney fees if litigation is necessary, in collecting any amount not paid when due.

The institution may not withhold an official transcript of grades by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution (see Title 1.6C.7 (commencing with Section 1788.90) Part 4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code). The institution can still charge a fee for the issuance of the transcript pursuant to their published transcript processing fees.

If a person believes they do not owe all or part of an asserted unpaid obligation, that person may contact Student Financial Services at 707-826-4407. Student Financial Services to which the business office may refer the person, will review all pertinent information provided by the person and available to the campus and will advise the person of its conclusions.

Refund of Tuition and Mandatory Fees, Including Nonresident Tuition

Regulations governing the refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, for students enrolling at the California State University are included in Section 41802 of Title 5, California Code of Regulations. For purposes of the refund policy, mandatory fees are defined as those systemwide and campus fees that are required to be paid in order to enroll in state-supported academic programs at the CSU. Refunds of fees and tuition charges for self-support, special session and extended education programs or courses at the CSU are governed by a separate policy established by the university, available at Student Financial Services.

In order to receive a full refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, less an administrative charge established by the campus, a student must cancel registration or drop all courses prior to the first day of instruction for the term. Information on procedures and deadlines for canceling registration and dropping classes is available on the Student Financial Services website.

For state-supported semesters, quarters and non-standard terms or courses of four weeks or more, a student who withdraws during the term in accordance with the university’s established procedures or drops all courses prior to the campus-designated drop period will receive a refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, based on the portion of the term during which the student was enrolled. No student withdrawing after the 60 percent point in the term will be entitled to a refund of any mandatory fees or nonresident tuition.

A student who, within the campus designated drop period and in accordance with campus procedures, drops units resulting in a lower tuition and/or mandatory fee obligation shall be entitled to a refund of applicable tuition and mandatory fees less an administrative charge established by the campus.

For state-supported non-standard terms or courses of less than four weeks, no refunds of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, will be made unless a student cancels registration or drops all classes, in accordance with the university’s established procedures and deadlines, prior to the first day of instruction for state-supported non-standard terms or courses or prior to the first meeting for courses of less than four weeks.

Students will also receive a refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, under the following circumstances:

  • The tuition and fees were assessed or collected in error;
  • The course for which the tuition and fees were assessed or collected was cancelled by the university;
  • The university makes a delayed decision that the student was not eligible to enroll in the term for which tuition and mandatory fees were assessed and collected and the delayed decision was not due to incomplete or inaccurate information provided by the student; or
  • The student was activated for compulsory military service.

Students who are not entitled to a refund as described above may petition the university for a refund demonstrating exceptional circumstances and the chief financial officer of the university or designee may authorize a refund if he or she determines that the fees and tuition were not earned by the university.

Information concerning any aspect of the refund of fees may be obtained from: Student Financial Services, 1 Harpst Street, Student & Business Services 257
Arcata, CA 95521. Phone: 707-826-4407.

Determination of Residency for Tuition Purposes

University requirements for establishing residency for tuition purposes are independent from requirements for establishing residency for other purposes, such as for tax purposes, or other state or institutional residency. These regulations were promulgated not to determine whether a student is a resident or nonresident of California, but rather to determine whether a student qualifies to pay university fees at the in-state or out-of-state rate. A resident for tuition purposes is someone who meets the requirements set forth in the Uniform Student Residency Requirements. These laws governing residency for tuition purposes at the California State University are California Education Code sections 68000-68086, 68120- 68133, and 89705-89707.5, and California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Subchapter 5, Article 4, sections 41900- 41915. This material can be viewed by accessing the California State University Office of General Counsel website.

Each campus’s Admissions Office is responsible for determining the residency status of that campus’s new and returning students based, as applicable, on the student’s Application for Admission, Residency Questionnaire, and, as necessary, other information the student furnishes. A student who fails to provide sufficient information to establish resident status will be classified a nonresident.

Residency Requirements

Initial Determination: Eligible Immigration Status, Physical Presence and Intent

A student seeking to pay in-state tuition at a California State University campus as a first-time freshman, transfer, or as a post-baccalaureate/graduate student must have an eligible immigration status to establish residency (see Immigration Information), meet physical presence by the Residence Determination Date, and demonstrate intent to indefinitely remain in the State of California for more than one year immediately preceding the Residence Determination Date. If the student is under the age of 19 (with limited exceptions), the student’s residence status is derived from that of the parent or from that of the legal guardian.

Requirements for Residency for Tuition Purposes

Physical Presence: The student or parent/guardian must be physically present in California for more than one year immediately preceding the Residence Determination Date in which enrollment is contemplated. For example, if a student plans to attend the CSU for the Fall 2022 academic term, and the Residence Determination Date for that term is September 20, 2022, the student must establish physical presence in California no later than September 19, 2021.

Intent: California law stipulates the burden of proof rests with the student, and merely living in California for a year does not support a claim for residency for tuition purposes. The student, or in some cases a parent or legal guardian, must demonstrate intent to remain indefinitely in the state for more than one year immediately preceding the Residence Determination Date (RDD) and sever all residential ties with the former state or country of residence. If the student is under the age of 19, the student’s residence status is derived from that of the parent or legal guardian unless an exception applies. There must be sufficient documentation to demonstrate that intent was established more than one year (a minimum of one year and one day) before the RDD.

Documents must include the student’s name, the student’s California address, and a date at least one year and one day prior or on the RDD for the term. For students under the age of 19, documents must be in the parent or legal guardian’s name unless an exception applies. Also, a parent or legal guardian’s immigration status does not preclude a student from establishing residency; therefore, the parent or legal guardian is not required to provide any immigration documents to demonstrate intent.

Evidence demonstrating intent to remain in the State of California indefinitely may vary from case to case, but will include, and is not necessarily limited to, the absence of residential ties to any other state, California voter registration and history of actually voting in California elections, maintaining California vehicle registration and driver’s license, maintaining active California bank accounts, filing California income tax returns and listing a California address on federal tax returns, owning residential property or occupying or renting a residence where permanent belongings are kept, maintaining active memberships in California professional or social organizations, and maintaining a permanent military address and home of record in California.

Immigration Information

A student seeking to pay in-state tuition at a California State University campus as a first-time freshman, transfer, or as a post-baccalaureate/graduate student must have an eligible immigration status to establish residency. Therefore, the student must be a United States citizen, a permanent resident (Green Card holder), or hold an eligible visa status (see list). If a student does not qualify as a California resident, the student may be eligible for certain exceptions and exemptions.

Nonimmigrant Statuses and Other Categories that are Eligible to Establish California Residency for Tuition Purposes

The Immigration and Nationality Act allows individuals in certain nonimmigrant statuses to establish permanent residency in the United States. Therefore, they are entitled to establish California residency for tuition purposes. For a complete list of eligible visas and other eligible categories, review the Nonimmigrant list Students must hold an eligible visa status at least one year before the Residence Determination Date to be eligible to establish California residency for tuition purposes.

Students in the category of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) or Temporary Protected Status (TPS) are also eligible to establish residency for tuition purposes. Also, students who are adjusting their immigration status, such as asylum, may qualify for residency depending on where they are in the application process.

Most nonimmigrant visa holders, such as an F-1 or J-1 visa holder, are not eligible to establish California residency for tuition purposes. Students with a visa or without an immigration status should contact the campus Admissions Office.

Exceptions

Exceptions to the general residency requirements are contained in California Education Code sections 68070-68086 and California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Subchapter 5, Article 4, sections 41906- 41906.6, 41910. Whether an exception applies to a particular student can only be determined after the submission of an application for admission and, as necessary, additional supporting documentation. Because neither the campus nor the Chancellor’s Office staff may give legal advice, applicants are strongly urged to review the material for themselves and consult with a legal advisor.

Residency determination dates are set each term. 

Quarter Term Campuses

  • Fall: September 20
  • Winter: January 5
  • Spring: April 1 
  • Summer: July 1

Semester Term Campuses

  • Fall: September 20
  • Winter: January 5
  • Spring: January 25 
  • Summer: June 1

CalState TEACH 

Fall - September 20
Spring - January 5
Summer - June 1

Reclassification - Financial Independence (only applies to continuing students)

A student classified as a nonresident for a prior term may seek reclassification in any subsequent term; however, reclassification requires that, in addition to satisfying the requirements of physical presence and intent to remain indefinitely in the state, the student must also satisfy the requirement of financial independence as outlined in Title 5 CCR § 41905.5. To do so, the student must contact the appropriate person in the campus admissions office and complete a Residency Questionnaire Form and provide supporting documents.

41905.5. Residence Reclassification - Financial Independence Requirement

  • Any nonresident student requesting reclassification to resident for tuition purposes must demonstrate financial independence
  • Student has not and will not be claimed as an exemption for state and federal tax purposes by his/her parent in the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three calendar years prior to the reclassification application
  • Student has not and will not receive more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) per year in financial assistance from his/her parent in the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three calendar years prior to the reclassification application
  • Student has not lived and will not live for more than six weeks in the home of his/her parent during the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three calendar years prior to the reclassification application
  • Note: Students who receive a government scholarship and/or financial assistance should be viewed the same as state and federal financial aid, and athletics grants-is-aid; and should not be counted as parental support.
  • Effective Fall 2020 academic term, if the student meets at least one of the following criteria, the student does not have to meet the financial independence requirement. Student must provide the campus admissions office supporting documents (e.g. state income tax returns, court documents, marriage certificate, military order form) that demonstrate they meet the criteria.
  • Dependent on a parent who has California residence for more than one year immediately preceding the residence determination date;
  • Enrolled in a graduate or post‐baccalaureate program, regardless of age;
  • Turned 24 years of age by the residence determination date;
  • Married or registered domestic partner as of the residence determination date;
  • Active duty members serving in the U.S Armed Forces
  • Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces
  • Legal dependent other than spouse or registered domestic partner
  • Former ward of the court, foster youth or both parents are deceased
  • Declared by a court to be an emancipated minor
  • Unaccompanied youth who is homeless or at risk of becoming homeless

Residency Appeals

A student classified as a nonresident may appeal a final campus decision within 30 days of notification by the campus. Appeals will be accepted only if at least one of the following criteria applies:

  1. The decision was based on:
    • a significant error of fact by the campus;
    • a significant procedural error by the campus; or
    • an incorrect application of the law which, if corrected would require that the student be reclassified as a California resident; and/or
  2. Significant new information, not previously known or available to the student, became available after the date of the campus decision classifying the student as a nonresident and based on the new information, the classification as a nonresident is incorrect.

Instructions to submit an appeal and additional information can be found on the California Residency for Tuition Purposes website.

Appeals via email, fax and U.S. mail will not be accepted. A student with a documented disability who is requesting an accommodation to submit an appeal through the CSU website should contact Student Affairs and Enrollment Management at residencyappeals@calstate.edu

The Chancellor’s Office will either decide the appeal or send the matter back to the campus for further review.

A student incorrectly classified as a resident or incorrectly granted an exception from nonresident tuition is subject to reclassification as a nonresident or withdrawal of the exception and subject to payment of nonresident tuition in arrears. If incorrect classification results from false or concealed facts, the student may also be subject to discipline pursuant to Section 41301 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations. A student previously classified as a resident or previously granted an exception is required to immediately notify the Admissions Office if the student has reason to believe that the student no longer qualifies as a resident or no longer meets the criteria for an exception.

Changes may have been made in the rate of nonresident tuition and in the statutes and regulations governing residency for tuition purposes in California between the time this information is published and the relevant residency determination date. Students are urged to review the statutes and regulations stated above.

Financial Aid

Student who are interested in receiving financial assistance from the federal and/or state governments must submit a free application for aid in order for eligibility to be determined. There are two applications available, the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for U.S. citizens and the California Dream Act for eligible AB540 students. The application period opens each year on October 1 for the following academic year. The priority deadline for maximum aid consideration is March 2. Additional information is available on the Financial Aid Application webpage

Cal Poly Humboldt school code is 001149.

Types of Aid

Financial Aid is considered any type of financial assistance a student receives for educational purposes whether it be from the federal and state governments or other sources. Students who submit a financial aid application are considered for four basic types of aid: scholarships, grants, work-study, and loans. See Types of Aid on the Financial Aid website. Students may access their personal financial aid award information online via Student Center or contact Financial Aid at (707) 826-4321, or toll free at (866) 255-1390, or via email at finaid@humboldt.edu

Federal Aid

Federal Pell Grant (PELL). The Federal Pell Grant is an entitlement program awarded to eligible students based on their financial need and who are pursuing their first undergraduate degree or initial teaching credential.

Federal Work Study (FWS) is a financial aid program that allows you to earn money to meet your educational costs through an on-campus or community job and the money earned does not have to be repaid. FWS is generally awarded to students enrolled full time, the types of awards and work vary depending on available funding and jobs.

The Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) are awarded to eligible undergraduate students who have Pell Grant eligibility. Funding for this grant is very limited and is usually awarded only to students from historically low-income families.

The TEACH Grant Program provides funds for students who are completing or who plan to complete coursework that is required to begin a career in teaching, and agree to teach full time for at least four years at an elementary school, secondary school, or educational service agency that serves students from low-income families and to meet other requirements.

State Aid

Cal Grants are the largest source of free money for California residents (and AB540 eligible students) and are intended for undergraduate students who have financial need.

The California Chafee Grant for Foster Youth gives free money to current or former foster youth to use for college.

California’s Middle Class Scholarship is a program that provides undergraduate and credential students, whose family income and assets are up to $165,000, a tuition discount to attend a California State University (CSU) campus. MCS scholarships are not set amounts and may vary by student and institution.

The Golden State Teacher Grant Program (GSTG) encourages students to consider earning a teaching credential and teach in a high-need field, at a priority school, in California for four years, within five years after completing a teacher preparation program.

Institutional Aid

The Educational Opportunity Program Grant (EOPG) is a grant awarded to first-year full-time undergraduate students admitted through the Cal Poly Humboldt Educational Opportunity Program/Student Support Services. This fund is awarded at the discretion of the Director of EOP/SSS.

State University Grant (SUG) Students must be classified as a California Resident (or an AB540 eligible student) in order to be considered for the State University Grant (SUG), which is for payment of CSU tuition and is the equivalent of a student’s yearly tuition charge. The SUG is not applied to campus based fees.

The California Dream Loan is a subsidized loan program developed to assist the California Dream Act students, also known as an AB-540 students.  The Dream Loan provides an option to California Dream Act students to borrow loans to help cover the cost of attending Cal Poly Humboldt.

Cal Poly Humboldt Scholarships

Cal Poly Humboldt awards approximately $600,000 in scholarships annually. Individual award amounts vary from $500 to $4000 annually.  The application period is November 15 to January 31 for the following academic year. Additional information is available on the Financial Aid: Scholarships and Private Loans webpage. Financial Aid measures academic achievement by grade information obtained from the Office of the Registrar. 

Estimated Cost of Attendance

The following estimates for 2022-2023 will give you a general idea of costs; summer attendance costs are not included. Fees are based on 6.1 or more units per semester. The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU must reserve the right, even after initial fee payments are made, to increase or modify any listed fees, without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU listed fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by The Board of Trustees.

Undergraduate

books & supplies (includes books, supplies, computer expenses & course materials fees)

  • Living with parents: $1,090
  • Living on campus: $1,090
  • Living off campus: $1,090

tuition & fees (subject to change)

  • Living with parents: $7,858
  • Living on campus: $7,858
  • Living off campus: $7,858

food & housing

  • Living with parents: $9,360
  • Living on campus: $12,540
  • Living off campus: $13,790

transportation

  • Living with parents: $1,158
  • Living on campus: $1,158
  • Living off campus: $1,158

miscellaneous

  • Living with parents: $2,204
  • Living on campus: $2,204
  • Living off campus: $2,204

TOTAL

  • Living with parents: $21,670
  • Living on campus: $24,850
  • Living off campus: $26,100

WUE (Western Undergraduate Exchange)

books & supplies (includes books, supplies, computer expenses & course materials fees)

  • Living on campus: $1,090
  • Living off campus: $1,090

tuition & fees (subject to change)

  • Living on campus: $10,732
  • Living off campus: $10,732

food & housing

  • Living on campus: $12,540
  • Living off campus: $13,790

transportation

  • Living on campus: $1,158
  • Living off campus: $1,158

miscellaneous

  • Living on campus: 2,204
  • Living off campus: 2,204

TOTAL

  • Living on campus: $27,724
  • Living off campus: $28,974

Credential Candidate

books & supplies (includes books, supplies, computer expenses & course materials fees)

  • Living with parents: $1,090
  • Living on campus: $1,090
  • Living off campus: $1,090

tuition & fees (subject to change)

  • Living with parents: $8,778
  • Living on campus: $8,778
  • Living off campus: $8,778

food & housing

  • Living with parents: $9,360
  • Living on campus: $12,540
  • Living off campus: $13,790

transportation

  • Living with parents: $1,158
  • Living on campus: $1,158
  • Living off campus: $1,158

miscellaneous

  • Living with parents: $2,204
  • Living on campus: $2,204
  • Living off campus: $2,204

TOTAL

  • Living with parents: $22,590
  • Living on campus: $25,770
  • Living off campus: $27,020

Graduate/Post-baccalaureate/Western Regional Graduate (WRGP)

books & supplies (estimate includes books, supplies, computer expenses & course materials fees)

  • Living with parents: $1,090
  • Living on campus: $1,090
  • Living off campus: $1,090

tuition & fees (subject to change)

  • Living with parents: $9,294
  • Living on campus: $9,294
  • Living off campus: $9,294

food & housing

  • Living with parents: $9,360
  • Living on campus: $12,540
  • Living off campus: $13,790

transportation

  • Living with parents: $1,158
  • Living on campus: $1,158
  • Living off campus: $1,158

miscellaneous

  • Living with parents: $2,204
  • Living on campus: $2,204
  • Living off campus: $2,204

TOTAL

  • Living with parents: $23,106
  • Living on campus: $26,286
  • Living off campus: $27,536

ID Card Fee:

An additional $5 is assessed to new students for an Identification Card.

Out of State Tuition:

Undergraduate 

Example non-resident fee: 12 units x 2 semesters = 24 units x $396 per unit = $9,504 in non-residence fees.

Example non-resident estimated cost of attendance: $9,504 + $26,100 = $35,604 is the estimated cost of attendance per year.

Graduate 

Example of Non-resident Fees: 9 units x 2 semesters = 18 units x $396 per unit = $7,128 in non-resident fees.

Example of Non-resident COA: $7,128 + $27,536 = $34,664 is the estimated cost of attendance per year.